Meditation Camp: Day One

Meditation Camp: Day One

I have three teenagers, it’s scary to say and it’s even scarier to think about what my life will be like for the next few years. I have always described adolescence as a bridge, not a solid bridge, but a swaying suspension bridge. I envision parents standing on one end watching the kids cross over to the other side called adulthood. There isn’t much we can do from the sidelines except send them love, message them with our thoughts and hope they draw from the toolbox we helped them assemble during their younger years.

Before school ended I asked them what they wanted to do for summer camp. They responded with a resounding nothing. I was naturally disturbed by thought of my kids lying around all day, eating junk and watching Netflix and playing X Box. I don’t consider myself a control freak, but on this point I was adamant. I set a deadline for them to propose a more energetically stimulating plan for the summer. I let them know that if they didn’t come up with one that I would.

The deadline came and no one had a plan, so I told them about my idea. Let me preface this by saying that I am the typical archetype of a mother and a teacher. The combination of these two with my third archetype, the mystic, resulted in Meditation Camp.
It was never my intention to write about this, but the past few days I’ve shared this with friends and they loved the idea. A friend of my daughter’s came over the other day and said “Miss Frances, you were going to put a teenager in camp?!” like are you nuts you old-fashioned hag LOL (who knew!) so I figure there must be people out there with kids who are doing nothing and if this can help any mother or any adult learn something then the goal has been achieved.

So a few weeks ago I ordered a white board on wheels, bought dry erase markers and welcomed the campers to Meditation Camp.

Camp agenda includes the following:
1. Open the day with a prayer circle where we call our spirit guides to come join us
2. Campers take a quiz on the previous day’s material
3. A morning lecture/teaching
4. Two meditations
5. Healthy meals
6. An activity to heal and connect with Mother Earth
7. Prayer/Wrap Up—Everyone must share something they learned

I understand the kids want to sleep and have their fun time so we only conduct camp 2-3 times per week and only for about 3 hours a day.

Day One
On day one I set out a bunch of fruit and prepared a healthy breakfast. We all gathered and started the lesson. The first day we discussed the difference between ego and spirit, we discussed that thoughts are our prayers, we covered the chakra system and the aura. We discussed the reasons to meditate and learned about monkey mind. We planted sunflower seeds in the backyard and started with a meditation indoors. One of the kids decided to lead us in a stretch and from there started the “mind body soul” segment – a few minutes where we do a stretch and mini exercise routine and then we ask mentally stimulating questions that we don’t always know the answer to, so we look them up…everybody learns something new. Electronics are not allowed at Meditation Camp so we also get a reprieve from emails and texts, which we could all use these days. Actually I take electronics from the kids the night before at 9:30pm so if they want to stay up they can BUT they have to find something to do that doesn’t involve TV, phone, iChat or texting.

Leave a Reply

